2016 Kumamoto earthquakes

Posted by Makoto Shimazawa on

The 2016 Kumamoto earthquakes are a series of earthquakes, including a magnitude 7.0 mainshock which struck at 01:25 JST on April 16, 2016 (16:25 UTC on April 15) beneath Kumamoto City of Kumamoto Prefecture in Kyushu Region, Japan, at a depth of about 10 kilometres (6.2 mi), and a foreshock earthquake with a magnitude 6.2 at 21:26 JST (12:26 UTC) on April 14, 2016, at a depth of about 11 kilometres (6.8 mi). The two earthquakes killed at least 48 people and injured about 3,000 others in total. Severe damage occurred in Kumamoto and Ōita Prefectures, with numerous structures collapsing and catching fire. More than 44,000 people have been evacuated from their homes due to the disaster.

Kumamoto earthquake

excerpt from wikipedia


Older Post Newer Post

params.svg
Panel Tool
Float header
Float topbar
Default Boxed Large Boxed Medium